9-11 Slap in the Face


It’s taken me a bit of time to be able to write this blog.  I had to let my ire cool off some.  So, here I am with a fresh coffee and a smoke ready to tell you how disgusted I am.

We all remember where we were when the twin towers fell on that sorrowful day in 2001.  We witnessed the Police and Fire personnel dashing to the scene, sirens blaring, to help get control of the situation.  As we were glued to the TV set, we watched those brave heroes go into the burning buildings  to assist anyone and everyone who was in distress.  We all watched in horror when the towers came crashing down because we knew that everyone in there had perished.  New York City lost 343 brave heroes that day.  The survivors, having been right at Ground Zero would go on to develop cancers, rare respiratory illnesses and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.  They live 9-11 over and over each and every day as they struggle with survivor’s guilt and sicknesses.

Given their sacrifices, shouldn’t they have front row seats to the 10th anniversary memorial?  If not front row seats, maybe some folding chairs in the back?  Well, not according to the politicians and carpet baggers who are organizing this thing.  How about this… they are not invited.  It is impossible to articulate how disgusted I am with this.  If it wasn’t for those heroes on that day, the death toll would have been much higher and chaos would have won.   The powers that be in the organization of this memorial, feel that it is much more important to have the Politicians and investors present.   That strikes me as sickening because I sure didn’t see any of them rushing into those burning buildings and pulling people out.  If you think I’m wrong, please tell me why.  I would especially like to hear from my friends in NYC… are you all up in arms over this?  Let me know……..

http://www.9-1-1magazine.com/EditorsDesk-First-Responders-Not-Invited-Sep-11th-Anniversary

http://www.snopes.com/rumors/responders.asp

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lady Sue
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 16:16:28

    I agree with you 100% this is a true slap in the face. there are options like forget the politicians and the investors. Put those who gave so much top of the list. let those NOT involved have another time and place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

